Seeking history of the investigator 563

General Sailing Talk
Quando

Seeking history of the investigator 563

Post by Quando »

Hi,
I would love to know more about the history of the Investigator 563, where & when did they start to build them & for how long etc.
I would also like to find out if there is a register of the boats that were built.

As I am very new to all of this, how do I find out how old my boat is?

Thank you for any help you can give me.
geoffr

Re: Seeking history of the investigator 563

Post by geoffr »

Hi Quando!
Welcome to the Investigator 'family'.
You can download a lot of info about this great design from the John Crawford marine website, based in Queensland. I think there's a little there on its history too.
There is also an Investigator Association that's still active.
I think Ian on this site can provide more details on joining it.
Cheers, Geoff
Geoff
Investigator 563 'QUMBU'
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Quando

Post by Quando »

Thanks Geoff,
I will check out both leads.
Thank you,
Helen
TheMonk

Post by TheMonk »

Yes, I'd like to know where they were actually built, city and suburb. I have an old book that indicates they were manufactured by Yacht Sales, Careening Cove, Sydney. Perhaps someone knows for sure where they were laid-up. John
TheMonk

Post by TheMonk »

For those that may be interested I found out some info on the factory where our Investigators were built.

According to an old document archived on the John Crawford Marine site the Investigator 563 was constructed at 1 Campbell Pde Manly Vale Sydney, incidentally, about 1 klm from where I live.
snoopebj

Post by snoopebj »

I have gathered a few bits and pieces over the years from old yachting mags of the 1970's/ 80's. (That's what old people do!)
It would be a good idea to have a history/archive section where everyone could throw in their lot.
A tribute to the original designer David Shepherd.
Good thinking Helen.
Example from an old Sea Spray mag.
Attachments
I1.jpg